• Page:

TOPIC:

Fixing and painting front fender etc. 4 years 11 months ago #24084

• StanG
  • StanG's Avatar Topic Author
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Thank you received: 248
I think the pictures speak for themselves. I need to fix these before painting. The fender was media blasted, so all questionable elements are gone. Just solid steel left.

The dent was filled with bondo before, but I'd like to straighten it out as much as possible. Would a propane torch to soften the steel be enough?

The rusted holes - they are solid. Now, brazing or bondo again? I think bondo should work, but I am not a pro.

As to what after. Do I need to stick to one particular brand or type of filling, paint, lacquer, all the way through?
What would be the recommended brands? I understand it needs a primer, base coat, color coat, and clear coat. How many each?

Thank you in advance.

Stan

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Fixing and painting front fender etc. 4 years 11 months ago #24090

• Frank833
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Thank you received: 89
It looks like there are more rust bubbles on the underside. First you would have to remove any hint of old rust.

IMO. bondo is only a temporary fix for rust. Your issue is the metal around the hole is thin. So not only do you have a hole, but you have a more significant area that the metal is weak. I think most professionals would say you have to cut it out and weld in new metal.

Personally, I'd get a replacement from down south....

Fixing and painting front fender etc. 4 years 11 months ago #24100

• StanG
  • StanG's Avatar Topic Author
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Thank you received: 248