Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

Looking at used KZ1300, any help from the crowd? 6 years 10 months ago #16545

• srech77
  • srech77's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 1
Hey all - just joined the forum .. hoping to get some preemptive tips from the KZ experts out there. I don't know anything about the KZ1300 other than it makes magnificent sounds and is a rare straight six bike.

The bike I am going to look at is a 1979 KZ1300, the ad says it is a one owner, all original, 12,500 miles. The pictures aren't super close up, but it looks really nice! He's asking $4,500 ... ANYWAY, are there some things that I should be looking for when I go to check it out. I am not a newbie to bikes by any means, just this bike in particular. I realize it can be hard to really examine things unless you start pulling off side covers, unbolting carbs, etc...but maybe you have some tips for me. Obviously I will look over things like tires, brakes, suspension, paint, frame, etc.. really well. And I will ride it ... no doubt.

Thanks in advance! Cheers -

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by srech77.

Looking at used KZ1300, any help from the crowd? 6 years 10 months ago #16546

• srech77
I asked the guy if he has done any maintenance over the years, or had any issues with it ... he said he has never messed with the carbs, but he did have to replace the coils - nology profire coils and Taylor wires?

Looking at used KZ1300, any help from the crowd? 6 years 10 months ago #16547

• Kawboy
  • Sustaining Member
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 1028
First off, Welcome to the Forum. Always nice to have new blood.
Take a look at the FAQ tab at the top of the page. All of your questions will be answered there.