• Page:

TOPIC:

Take a second look at your workshop/work area 7 years 3 weeks ago #15822

• Kawboy
  • Kawboy's Avatar Topic Author
  • Sustaining Member
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 1027
I guess the recent topic "Restore Disaster" has caused me some thought regarding shop safety. According to the post, a friend lost a workshop to a fire caused by a backfire when starting a bike just after doing some work on it.

I have a large garage attached to my house. It's 3-1/2 car bay wide and the outer bay is 50 feet deep. Square footage is 1360 sq. ft. It's my garage for the family vehicle, the 3/4 ton truck, my other baby,my Porsche 928 and the KZ1300. It's also the workshop for the vehicles and the bike. I do all of the vehicle maintenance since I'm also a licenced auto technician. In my career in the nuclear power plant I was a ticketed pipefitter/welder and a machinist/fitter. So in my workshop at home I have a stick/tig welding machine and a very small 6"x21" metal lathe. I should also mention that during my career I was a welding shop supervisor so safety in the shop was a critical portion of my job as a supervisor. Probably the most watched activity in a nuclear power plant is fire safety since a loss of electrical control in a nuclear power plant can result in a major environmental disaster.

At the poweer plant we had flammable storage cabinets for storage of flammables. Flammable storage cabinets can be in a welding shop provided that they be at least 50 feet away from any hot work in the shop. Hot work is defined as any work where heat is generated over 150 deg F. or where sparks are generated that could ignite any flammable material. Knowing that principal you could keep your flammables 50 feet away from any area that you might do hot work in but we all have multipurpose work shops at home. Before we do any hot work we need to consider "In the event of a fire, what am I about to lose and at what cost?"